Current Conditions
14 ° Mostly Cloudy

Login | Subscribe
Loading.... Please Wait.

Eden Board is geared up for a new year

EDEN — The Eden Town Board held its reorganization session on Dec. 30, in compliance with New York state’s municipality requirement.

This special meeting handled end-of-year financial transactions, budget transfers and audit bills; the board also made appointments to town positions and committees.

Supervisor Glenn Nellis said that the purpose of this meeting was “to have everything in place, prior to the new year.”

He requested and received board approval for salaries of elected town offices, as follows: supervisor, $37,872; four board members, $10,294; two town justices, $15,645; head assessor, $18,623; two assessors, $14,489; town clerk, $36, 476 and highway superintendent, $69,785.

The supervisor asked the board to approve salaries for various appointed positions within the town government, as follows: court clerk, $32,305; bookkeeper, $36,577; town attorney, $29,220; town prosecutor, $6,186 and police clerk, $42,767.

The board had previously approved collective bargaining agreements between the town and Eden Police Chief Michael Felschow for the three-year period ending Jan. 1, 2017. The board also approved an agreement between the town and the Eden Highway Association for a three-year contract ending in 2016.

The town board approved the appointment of the following as part-time police officers: Mark Baltes, Samuel Beiter, Adam Cornell, Joseph Flynn, Timothy McDonald, James Pierce, Michael Rich, Christopher Schreiber, Richard Syracuse and Ryan Young. Joseph Flynn was also named a reserve police captain.

The board approved the appointment of the following as part-time public safety dispatchers: Julie Boedo, Derek Filipiak, Stan Janus, Thomas Jones and Rose Nadrich.

Nellis made the following appointments: Lisa Greiner as administrative assistant and confidential secretary ($35,147); Diane Herzog as part-time secretary to the supervisor; Anna Mae Knack as part-time secretary ($20,381) and Robert Pietrocarlo as head assessor ($18,623).

The supervisor reappointed the following to serve another two-year term on the Eden Agricultural Committee: Felice Krycia, Karen Agle Sullivan, Gerald Mammoser and David Zittel (chairman).

Nellis reappointed Bettyann Neifer to another five-year term on the Eden Library Board.

In other board news:
– The board scheduled regular town board meetings for 7:30 p.m. on the second Wednesday of each month. Additional meetings will be held at 7:30 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month, as necessary.

– The board approved increased water rates for the Wepax Road Water Improvement Area. The current flat rate of $40 for the first 6,000 gallons has remained unchanged. Thereafter, the rate will rise to $5.50 per 1,000 gallons, from $4 per 1,000. The new rate went into effect Jan. 1.

– The board named The Sun as the official newspaper of the town of Eden.

– The town fire chiefs and firefighters have requested that residents protect their property and their neighbors’. “Please be kind and dig out the snow-covered fire hydrants,” the fire department said.

You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment
Join's mailing list.
For Email Marketing you can trust