Current Conditions
34 ° Snow and Sleet

Login | Subscribe
Loading.... Please Wait.

Seven are running for the Hamburg School Board

For the second consecutive year, there will be a slew of candidates running for the Hamburg School Board, as the deadline to file petitions to run for area school boards closed at 5 p.m. Monday (April 22).

This year’s annual school board and trustee vote will be held on Tuesday, May 21.

Hamburg Central School District

One year after a hotly contested race which saw eight candidates seek three school board seats, this year’s numbers are almost as close as seven candidates will seek the three seats up this year.

This includes incumbent School Board President Joan Calkins, who is running for the second straight year after winning a 1-year seat a year ago. The other six candidates are Laura Heeter, Gary R. Klumpp, John R. Callahan, Catherine Schrautch Forcucci, Sheila J. Ruhland and David Yoviene.

Calkins filled the final year of a seat that was held by Robert Madden, who had been appointed to fill the first year of a seat previously held by Kelly Harper, who resigned from the school board.

As a result, that seat will now be for a three-year term.

The other two seats are currently held at Matthew Dils and Diane Reynolds, who are not seeking reelection to the board.

Eden Central

School District

Four candidates will be seeking two three-year terms – including the incumbents – during the school board trustee and budget vote.

School Board President Steven P. Cerne and Trustee Kristen D. Pinker are seeking to retain their seats and will look to hold off challenges from Patricia M. Krouse and Paul R. Shephard.

Additionally, voters in the district will also have to vote on Proposition 2, which would be to allow an amount not to exceed $32,000 to purchase and install a new catalytic converter for the co-generation plant, as required by the Environmental Protection Agency regulations. The plant provides electricity to district facilities. The expenditure from the 2010 Repair Reserve Fund would have no impact on the tax levy for 2013-14.

Lake Shore Central School District

A trio of candidates will run unopposed for the three school board seats. Each seat carries a three-year term.

Among them is incumbent Cynthia Latimore. She is joined in the race by William J. Connors, Jr., whose dad served as a school board member, and Jennifer S. Farrell.

Current members Dennis Feldmann and Dyan Scritchfield opted not to seek reelection.

Voters will also have a referendum in regards to the purchase of three full-size 71-passenger school buses at an estimated cost of $113,546.60 each, which comes to a total of $340,639.80.

North Collins

School District

One school board seat is up for election with one candidate whose name will be on the ballot May 21.

Tammy Winter will seek a five-year seat on the board after incumbent Richard Foster decided not to seek reelection.

Voters will also have to decide on a transportation referendum, which will be for the opportunity to purchase one full-size school bus, and one other school related vehicle at a cost not to exceed $220,000.

Frontier Central School District

As a result of the 2012 decision to reduce the board from nine to seven members in 2013, there will be no school board seats up for election this year. As a result, the seats currently held by Nancy Wood and Jeremy Rosen will be eliminated beginning July 1.


You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment
Join's mailing list.
For Email Marketing you can trust