Current Conditions
-8 ° Partly Cloudy

Login | Subscribe
Loading.... Please Wait.

Collins defeats Hochul, will head to Congress

Christina Abt of Eden, the Democratic candidate for the State Assembly 147th District race, arrives at O’Brien’s Pub in Eden on Tuesday night (Nov. 6) to await results on hers and other races. Abt was defeated by former East Aurora Mayor David DiPietro in a hotly contested race for the newly redrawn district.
A pair of local long-time political players, Kathy Hochul and David Shenk, saw their short stints in Congress and Erie County Clerk end Tuesday night, as election night led to some stunning results.

U.S. Congressional 27th District

After a see-saw battle, the race in the U.S. Congressional 27th District proved to be as close as predicted, as Republican Chris Collins made a remarkable political comeback Tuesday and defeated incumbent Democrat Kathy Hochul to win a two-year term in Congress.

According to results from the Erie County Board of Elections website, Collins picked up 51 percent of the vote, defeating Hochul by a count of 66,742-64,402.

Collins’ victory comes one year after he lost a difficult battle to Mark Poloncarz in his bid for reelection for Erie County Executive. Hochul, a former Hamburg Town Councilwoman and Erie County Clerk, lost her reelection bid to Congress. In the Spring of 2011, she defeated Jane Corwin in a special election following the resignation of former Congressman Chris Lee.

U.S. Senator

Incumbent Democrat Kirsten Gillibrand will serve a six-year term as Senator after easily winning Tuesday night, collecting 68 percent of the vote.

Republican challenger Wendy Long garnered 30 percent of the vote, with Colia Clark, Chris Edes and John Mangelli combining to collect the other 2 percent of the votes.

State Senate 60th District

Republican Mark Grisanti was successful in his bid for reelection in the redistricted 60th District State Senate race.

He collected 50 percent of the votes, in a race that also included Democrat Michael Amodeo, who came away with 36 percent of the votes, Conservative candidate Charles Swanick, who collected 12 percent of the votes and Working Families candidate Gregory David, who garnered 2 percent of the votes.

State Senate 59th District

Patrick Gallivan had the easiest night among candidates in state races, as he ran unopposed for a second two-year term for the State Senate in the 59th District.

He had the backing of the Republican, Conservative and Independence parties and collected 100 percent of the votes on his way to another term in Albany.

State Assembly 147th District

The third time proved to be the charm for Republican and former East Aurora Mayor David DiPietro, in his bid to represent Western New York in Albany, after winning a hotly contested race against Democrat Christina Abt.

DiPietro, who ran unsuccessfully for the State Senate in 2008 and 2010, collected 54 percent of the votes and will serve a two-year term in the newly redrawn State Assembly district.

He was able to carry the momentum from his Republican primary win.

The race became wide open after incumbent Kevin Smardz, who initially sought reelection to the State Assembly, had to back out for personal reasons. DiPietro will be sworn in come January.

State Assembly 149th District

Democrat Sean Ryan will now serve a full, two-year term as State Assemblyman in the 149th District after overwhelmingly defeating challenger and Conservative Party candidate Joseph Mascia on Tuesday.

Ryan collected 83 percent of the votes. He was elected in a special election to the State Assembly in 2011 following the resignation of former Assemblyman Sam Hoyt. Hamburg and Blasdell will now be represented by Ryan.

Erie County Comptroller

Democrat and long-time former Boston Town Clerk David Shenk was defeated by Republican challenger Stefan Mychajliw in the race for Erie County Comptroller on Tuesday. The seat will be for one year, which is the final year of the seat formerly held by Mark Poloncarz, who became Erie County Executive in January.

Although Mychajliw was declared the winner, Shenk has said he will not concede defeat until absentee votes are counted. Shenk resigned as Boston Town Clerk earlier this year to accept the one-year appointment as Erie County Comptroller.

With 52 percent of the votes collected, Mychajliw, a former reporter at WGRZ-TV, will take the reigns as the new fiscal watchdog for the county.

He will have to run again in 2013 for a full, four-year term.

Boston Town Clerk

Shenk’s resignation as Boston Town Clerk opened the door for Jennifer Mule’, who was appointed as town clerk for the first year of the seat won in 2011 by Shenk. In the unopposed race, Mule’, who had the backing of the Democratic, Republican, Conservative and Working Families parties, collected all 3,593 votes and will now serve the remaining three years of the term.

Seneca Nation President

Barry Snyder Sr. was elected to his fifth term as president of the Seneca Nation of Indians.

You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


2012-11-10 | 11:37:59
So Long Hochul
You no longer get to live off of the people's taxes.
Join's mailing list.
For Email Marketing you can trust