Current Conditions
34 ° Cloudy

Login | Subscribe
Loading.... Please Wait.

A new year in the village of Hamburg

HAMBURG — As part of its multi-tiered April 7 gathering, the Hamburg Village Board held its annual organizational meeting, which included the adoption of this year’s budget.

Village Administrator and Budget Director Donald Witkowski, Deputy Treasurer Mary Beth Dueringer, Deputy Clerk Mary McKee, Deputy Mayor Thomas Tallman, Village Attorney/Acting Village Prosecutor Edward Murphy III, Acting Village Justice Michael Biehler, Village Prosecutor Brian Attea, Bingo Inspector Paul Klemenich, Western New York Stormwater Coalition Representative Marc Shuttleworth and WNY Stormwater Coalition Alternate Representative Witkowski were appointed to terms of one year, ending April 6, 2015.

The architectural review committee is made up of Michael Lennon, Michael Agate and Douglas Hutter, with David Rust as an alternate member.

Village Mayor Thomas Moses Sr. is the village’s representative to the Association of Erie County Governments. Tallman and Witkowski are both alternate representatives.

The board also appointed members of the planning commission, board of ethics, environmental conservation commission, recreation commission and civic beautification commission to three-year terms ending April 3, 2017.

Witkowski’s four-year term as clerk-treasurer and the historic preservation commission members’ terms were also approved.

Hamburg Zoning Board of Appeals member Russell Rich was appointed to a five-year term, with Chairman Richard Stumpf’s being appointed to a one-year term.

The board designated JP Morgan Chase, Key Bank, M&T Bank, Citibank, RBS Citizens, Evans Bank, First Niagara and New York Cooperative Liquid Assets Security Systems as the village’s official depositories.

The clerk-treasurer was authorized to collect village taxes and all other charges made by the village.

The board agreed to continue the $100,000 bonding blanket coverage for the year, and identified positions within the clerk-treasurer’s office, department of public works, police and recreation, for receipt of funds and cash.

Petty cash amounts and payments between meetings were also agreed upon.

The mayor, board members and administrator were authorized to attend and expense admission to various conferences, workshops and other meetings.

The Sun was named the official newspaper for the village of Hamburg, with The Buffalo News as needed.

Village board meetings will continue to be held at 7 p.m. on the first and third Mondays of each month, except for three modifications caused by official Monday holidays, including the first week in September, the third week of January and the third week of February.

The board approved the mayor’s liaison appointments for the year. Those include:

– Moses: Police commissioner, fire commissioner, liaison – other governments, public relations, Hamburg Industrial Development Agency, Hamburg Health Council and Hamburg School Board.

– Tallman: Planning commission, public works, architectural review committee and character council.

– Trustee Paul Gaughan: Parks and beautification, recreation commission and community center.

– Trustee Laura Hackathorn: Justice department, historic preservation commission and economic development committee.

– Trustee Mark Colmerauer: Clerk-treasurer’s office, audit committee, safety committee and environmental conservation committee.

The following motions were approved, during the board’s regular meeting.

Standard work days for elected and appointed officials were established.

The budget for the fiscal year beginning June 1 and ending May 31, 2015 was adopted, in the amount of $9,793,310. The estimated revenue for the fiscal year is $3,319,455; the balance to be raised by taxes is $6,473,855.

Moses was authorized to execute a tax warrant requiring the village clerk-treasurer to collect taxes and assessments as levied.

He was also authorized to accept the proposals from Municipal Solutions Inc. to “provide general financial services and services related to long-term closing with the Clean Water State Revolving Fund, in connection with the village’s sewer rehabilitation, pump station elimination and Crescent Avenue pump station projects.”

The village recognized Crown Benefits Group as its health insurance broker of record and authorized Moses to execute an approved funding/trust agreement to become a member of the Alliance of Western New York.

The board accepted the resignation of Bonnie Meyer from the traffic safety committee, effective immediately.

Karl Swarts of East Aurora was hired as a part-time seasonal (non-competitive) clerk in the clerk-treasurer’s department, at a rate of $10 per hour.

Jacie Gavin of Hamburg was appointed to full-time recreation attendant in the recreation department, with a salary of $29,120.

The board accepted Emerling Chevrolet’s low bid of $34,940 for a new and unused 2014 or newer dual wheel drive 4-by-4 regular cab work truck, cab and chassis.

The board approved an animal and fowl permit to allow six chickens to be kept by Beth Wagner on Union Street.

The board approved signage submitted by Nick Johnson of Allstate Insurance on Buffalo Street. Johnson’s application has been reviewed by the architectural review committee.

The board approved building design standards submitted by Ryan Draudt of the Hamburg Dairy Queen located on Lake Street. The facade renovations were reviewed by the architectural review committee.

The building design standards submitted by Kevin Higgins of Expert Auto (converting to Firestone Auto) were approved.

Witkowski reported that the village has received an increase in Consolidated Local Street and Highway Improvement Program funding, in this year’s state budget. He said that he will check to see if those monies can be used for pothole repairs.

Shuttleworth said that road project No. 2 in the village will include work on George Street, Parkside Avenue, Sherwood Avenue, Martha Place, Beverly Place and Drechsler Court.

Recreation and Parks Department Supervisor Josh Haieck reported that Leathers & Associates has taken a look at the village’s wooden playground and will be presenting its findings to the board.

“We want to make the playground great again, for both residents and non-residents,” Haieck said. “A lot of people are very passionate about that playground.”

The village’s Easter egg hunt will be held at Tree Grove Park at 1 p.m. on April 19.

The mayor, Village Justice Andrew Fleming, Tallman and Colmerauer were sworn in to continue their roles, after the recent village election.

Police Chief Dennis Gleason reported that the winter parking ban is “finally over.”

The board will hold a work session at 5:30 p.m. on April 21, followed by a regular meeting at 7.

You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment
Join's mailing list.
For Email Marketing you can trust