Current Conditions
11 ° Light Snow

Login | Subscribe
Loading.... Please Wait.

North Collins school board reorganizes during meeting

NORTH COLLINS — The North Collins School Board reorganized itself July 1 and chose Mark Snow as its president. Snow, an eleven year member of the Board, was recently reelected to his third, five-year term. He will be joined by Lisa Petrus as vice-president.

In other assignments the board approved:

Superintendent Joan Thomas as administrator of federal funds; chief financial officer; purchasing agent; special education director; home school coordinator; property manager; records management officer; records access officer and harassment officer.

Thomas will also serve as Title IX/Section 504/ADA compliance officer.

Kathleen Mason was reappointed as district clerk; Crystal Cocca, district treasurer; Deborah Dispenza, deputy treasurer; Amy Spicola, tax collector at a stipend of $5,000 and Nancy Rinaldi as internal claims auditor for a stipend of $1,606.

The school physician will be provided by Southtowns Family Practice, for a fee of $6,500. School Attorney will remain Hodgson, Russ, Andrews, Woods & Goodyear LLP.

Cocca will serve as Central Treasurer for the Extra classroom Activities Account. Wendy Habermehl and Barbara Senus will act as attendance officers for which they will each receive an $862.50 stipend.

Dennis Guadagno will be the asbestos designee; Barbara Senus will be infectious control officer, for a $500 stipend; Ronald Schmitt will be the pesticide representative and Julie Palmer will serve as chemical hygiene officer for a stipend of $858.

Liaison for homeless children will be Annie Metcalf; title funds grand clerk will be Deborah Dispenza for a stipend of $1,606; John Cataldo will be chief information officer and Ryan Hayes will be the director of Health and Physical Education.

Annie Metcalf and John Cataldo will serve as Dignity Act Coordinators.

The board approved renewal of its membership in the Erie County Association of School Boards for $4,120 and appointed itself to positions on that body as follows: Delegate Mark Snow; Alternate Delegate Lisa Petrus; representative to legislative team, Shannon Locking; Alternate Martin Niefergold; representative to budget and finance team, Tammy Winter; and Alternate Mike Stefan.

The Educational Advisory Committee was named with Metcalf as chair.

Also serving will be Cataldo, Nicole Neal, Lisa Brosnick, David Burgstahler, Ruth Davis, Robert English, Timothy Flanagan, Art Gasiewicz, Scott Kaplan, Jason Lyons, Kevin Manchester, Donna Reiman, Lisa Sager, Anna Suranyi and parent member, Alice Yoder.

Committee members normally meet during school hours, but a $20 per hour pay for meetings held over the summer is allowed.

The District Safety Committee consists of: Jason Lyons, Chair, Joan Thomas, Annie Metcalf, John Cataldo, Nicole Livingston-Neal, Dennis Guadagno, The Supervisor of Transportation, Kathryn Shelley, Jaime Ando, Ruth Davis, Arthur Gasiewicz, Anton Stang, James Mallaber, Trooper Mike Connors, the School Resource Officer and a Village of North Collins Police Department. Designee.

District Funds were approved to be deposited in Chase Bank, Community Band, Key Bank and M&T Bank.

The official newspapers for the district will be The Sun and the Dunkirk Observer.

Set the date for the budget vote and election for May 19 and set a tentative date of May 12 for the budget hearing.


You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment
Join's mailing list.
For Email Marketing you can trust