Current Conditions
17 ° Light Snow

Login | Subscribe
Loading.... Please Wait.

A new North Collins Town Board shows its cautious side

NORTH COLLINS — An organizational and business meeting of the North Collins Town Board saw three new board members’ taking their seats.

The freshmen representatives now make up the majority of the board; they tabled several resolutions endorsed by Supervisor Rosaline Seege.

Among those items was a resolution to create a part-time supervisor’s administrative assistant at a rate of $11 – 13 per hour, based on experience, to not exceed 20 hours per week.

Councilman John Tobia requested a list of the duties covered by this new position.

While Rozalin Warren was reaffirmed as the director of recreation at an annual salary of $6,322, another proposal that would create an assistant recreation director, at a salary of $3,150, was tabled.

Seege, who submitted the name of Marty Niefergold to hold that post, said that Warren’s pending relocation will necessitate a new recreation director. She added that she believes Niefergold could learn from Warren now and be ready to assume full responsibility, when Warren departs.

Richard Schaus was named town attorney, at a yearly salary of $12,000. Schaus was also named town prosecutor, at $150 per occasion.

Assessor Jeanne Ebersole’s pay will be set, next month.

Phil Tremblay will remain the code enforcement officer and building inspector, at $10,247 per year; Town Historian Georgianne Bowman has a salary of $2,100.

Kathleen Meyers will continue as clerk to the town justices at a salary of $8,214 and Heidi Kibler will stay on as deputy town clerk, at a rate of $13 per hour. Bookkeeper Agnes Parks has a salary of $14,608.

The salaries for highway department motor equipment operators was set at $17.50 for the first year, $19.43 for the second year, $20.38 for the third year and $21.53 for the fourth year. Laborers will be compensated at $13 per hour.

Carl Muehlbauer was returned as disaster preparedness coordinator, with a yearly salary of $2,625; Ebersole was named dog control officer, at $5,737 per year. Robert Ebersole was appointed as unpaid deputy dog control officer.

Michael Drumn was reappointed to a five-year term on the planning board and Alicia Jaworski, secretary to that board, will be compensated at $13 per hour. Constables will be paid $13.77 per hour.

Patti Dole was appointed to a vacancy on the library board; Bonnie Noto and Jennifer Schiffman were reappointed to new terms that will expire in 2018. Mariann Gabel was appointed to a vacancy on the board of assessment review.

Funding for fire protection was set at $60,100 each, for the Lawtons and Langford, New Oregon fire companies; $30,050 will go to the village of North Collins for fire protection, while an additional $10,000 was earmarked for the village’s cost for Helmuth Dispatch.

Salaries for town officials were set at: supervisor, $18,635; deputy supervisor, $1,126; highway superintendent, $47,290; town clerk, $41,192; two town justices, $10,434 each and four councilmen, $5,464 each.

Seege will also receive $1,698 for her work as budget director and Highway Superintendent David Winter will be compensated an additional $5,000 between April 1 and Oct. 31, for supervising parks maintenance.

Both the town clerk and highway superintendent will receive full health insurance, at a rate of $261.93 per month.

The board agreed to have an outside annual audit performed again this year by CPA firm Freed Maxick. The fee for the supervisor’s audit was pegged at $7,500, while a combined fee to audit the clerk’s office and the justice court was expected to be $1,800. Freed Maxick was selected to prepare the annual update document, which will be filed with the state, at a fee of $1,200.

The board named Community Bank as its depository. It named The Sun as its official newspaper and kept Computer Search Payroll Services for the issuing of payroll.

Regarding Helmuth Control, for which the town serves as lead agency for at least three more months, Jordan Griffin was named coordinator, at a salary of $300 biweekly; Michael Birtchnel was appointed head dispatcher, at $14 per hour. Dispatchers will receive $11.55 per hour. Agnes Parks will serve as bookkeeper for Helmuth Dispatch, for an annual salary of $1,500.

Appointed in various capacities and committees were:

– Seege: Helmuth Advisory Board, Association of Erie County Governments, assessor, public safety coordinator and marriage officer.

– Councilman Karen Ricotta: justice court, town clerk (record retention and destruction), senior citizens, dog control and marriage officer.

– Councilman Michael Perry: deputy supervisor, Erie County Water Consortium, highway department, building maintenance and repair, Southtowns enhancement, emergency squad, street lighting and Lawtons Fire Company.

– Tobia: planning board, zoning board of appeals, school board, recreations department, Langford-New Oregon Fire Company and marriage officer.

– Councilman Ellen Mathis: library, veterans groups – flags, recycling – garbage, N.E. Southtowns Solid Waste Board and North Collins Fire Company.

During regular board proceedings, Mathis won approval of her resolution to seat Town Clerk Margaret Orrange at the same level as the town board. Orrange had been asked to relinquish her chair at the head dais last year, following disagreements between her and the supervisor.

Approved were the annual contract with the North Collins

Emergency Squad for $50,000, as well as for the town historical society, at $300.

Winter reported that accidental damage to a highway barn door would be covered by insurance, but he would like to expand the door from its current 16 feet to 20. That will require additional funds; he said he will secure prices.

Perry was authorized to seek bids to address a standing water problem at the side entrance to the town court/hall.

Tobia said, “2014 is not business as usual here. We need to get a plan; we need a strategy to move forward.” He suggested using the current comprehensive plan survey that is circulating as a possible road map, to identify needs and projects.

The town board will meet again at 7 p.m. on Feb. 12 in the town hall.

You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment
Join's mailing list.
For Email Marketing you can trust