Current Conditions
42 ° Cloudy

Login | Subscribe
Loading.... Please Wait.

Hamburg Little Cagers 2013 Basketball Season Champions

Pellicano’s celebrates its title with a team that includes from left, first row: Coach John Hillery, Anna Johnston, Abigail Hillery, Maddi Geniti, Carrie Vanderwalker, Lauren Kennedy and Dana D’Orlando. Second row: Abigail Damico, Lauren Tone, Coach Paul Kennedy, Hannah Kennedy and Julianna Pellicano.

Pellicano’s finishes off perfect season

Pellicano’s Spaghetti Sauce Co. finished the season with a perfect record of 12-0, closing out the year with a 31-19 victory over JGB Enterprises in the Girls ages 11-14 Division championship game held at Armor Elementary. As they did all season, Pellicano’s came up with a solid defensive effort to help key the win. JGB had a strong year, finishing second in the regular season, but Pellicano’s was able to shut its opponent down early, jumping out to a 15-2 half-time lead. Leading the defensive effort were Maddi Geniti with three steals and four rebounds and Lauren Tone (five rebounds and four blocked shots). Offensively, Pellicano’s was led by Hannah Kennedy, who finished with eight points and five assists. Also playing big roles were Abigail Damico, who netted seven points and came up with four steals, and Julianna Pellicano, who chipped in with six points while pulling down seven rebounds. JGB got things going in the second half behind the hot hand of Emily Applegate, who poured in eight points. Morgan Propp came on strong as she knocked down six points, while Natalie Snow added three assists and two steals.

The Erie Metro FCU basketball team won the 2012-13 Hamburg Little Cagers ages 11-12 Division, finishing the regular season 8-0 and winning three more times in the playoffs. The team includes, from left, first row: Ethan Gray, Tommy Notto, Gabe Rondon, Andrew Lauria and Peyton Kellner. Second row: Coach Paul Kellner, Andrew Szczublewski, Austin Disspain, Charlie Bennett, Kyle Shuttleworth and David Lauria.

Erie Metro caps 11-0 season with title

Erie Metro FCU capped off an undefeated season with a balanced scoring attack in the championship game. Thomas Notto and Kyle Shuttleworth scored 8 points each, while Peyton Kellner added six points and five assists to finish off a perfect 11-0 season. The “B” team was the difference for Erie Metro, like its been all season, with great play from Andrew Szczublewski, Andrew Lauria, Austin Disspain, Gabe Rondon and Ethan Gray.

In the semifinal round, Waterstone Grill’s Cinderella playoff run came to a close as the team succumbed to the undefeated Erie Metro FCU squad. Erie Metro was led by Andrew Szczublewski’s 10 points and six steals, as well as Peyton Kellner’s 10-assist game at point guard. In the other semifinal, Century 21/ Ganey used stifling defense to corral Dick’s Sporting Goods, as Will McKeever blocked eight shots and altered many more in the victory. Brett Hall led Dick’s with eight points and eight steals in a losing cause.

The upset of the playoffs came when Ben Taylor scored nine points in the second half (15 overall) to help No. 6 Waterstone thwart third- seeded Uncle Joe’s Diner, 39-20. No. 5 Century 21/ Ganey made a late-game surge to defeat fourth-seeded Hoak’s, 32-30. Ganey’s Nick Widman scored the winning basket with four seconds left on a full-court baseball pass by big man Will McKeever. No. 2 Dick’s defeated No. 7 Hamburg P.B.A. 34-27 and top-seeded Erie Metro FCU outlasted Liberty Solutions, 46-31.

West Herr Automotive wins Cagers title West Herr Automotive capped an undefeated season in the ages 13-15 Division by beating Dick’s Sporting Goods 33-25 in the Hamburg Little Cagers’ championship game. The team includes, from left, first row: Jimmy Nolan, Andrew Mumm, Alex Boglev, Patrick Hart, and Trevor Govenettio. Second row: Coach Brian Muldowney, Ian Hayes, Derek Dorr, Zach O’Connor, Mike Damico and Jeremy Tirado.

Buffalo Rehab Group wins Cagers title Pictured above are the Hamburg Little Cagers boys basketball ages 9-10 champions, sponsored by the Buffalo Rehab Group. The team includes, from left, first row: Jack Harper, Ayden Link, David Benningfield, David Lambert, Zachary Chase and Derek Benningfield. Second row: Coach Dave Benningfield, Connor Achtyl, Mitchell Cole, Ben Chase, Nathan Neudeck, Benjamin Bill and Coach Marty Lambert.

2013 Donny Thiry Unsung Hero Award Derek Dorr was recognized as the 2013 Donny Thiry Unsung Hero after exemplifying team play, sportsmanship, leadership and a solid work ethic throughout his involvement in the Hamburg Little Cagers Youth Basketball League. He stands right with from left: Coach Brian Muldowney and Mr. and Mrs. Thiry.


You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment
Join's mailing list.
For Email Marketing you can trust