Current Conditions
5 ° Partly Cloudy

Login | Subscribe
Loading.... Please Wait.

North Collins recognizes winter sports student-athletes

Honored for earning a varsity letter for girls basketball were, from left, first row: Christine Blidy and Angela Filkov. Second row: Carly Richardson and Jasmine Filkov. Third row: Veronica Richardson, Samantha Gier and Destiny Kennedy. Missing from photo: Taren Mancuso, Kara Bliss and Emily Swiatkowski.
Honored for earning a varsity letter for boys basketball were, from left, first row: Zane Lloyd, Constantin Goetsch, Jordan Keough and Jaden Keough. Second row: Jacob Fyock, Andrew Kuczkowski and David Fera. Third row: Jared Keppel and Hawk Horschel. Missing from photo: Todd Youngman.
The North Collins Central School held its varsity winter sports banquet on March 7 at the elementary school to honor its boys and girls basketball players for the 2012-13 season. Sponsored by the Varsity Club, the student athletes, guests, and coaches were provided with a meal catered by Three Star Restaurant, while all-stars, team award winners and scholar-athletes were recognized.

The boys varsity basketball team had three players honored by the CCAA III as all-stars. Jared Keppel was a First team selection, while Jordan Keough and Todd Youngman were honorable mention. For the girls varsity basketball team, Christine Blidy was a CCAA Division III honorable mention.

Honored as Scholar-Athletes during the 2012-2013 basketball season was Samantha Gier for being on the High Honor Roll and Kara Bliss, Angela Filkov, Jasmine Filkov, Christine Blidy, Carly Richardson and Veronica Richardson for being on the Honor Roll. For the boys, David Fera, Constantin Goetsch and Jordan Keough were also Scholar-Athletes thanks to making the Honor Roll.

Earning varsity girls basketball team awards were Blidy for Most Valuable Player/Foul Shot Award, Angela Filkov (Most Improved Player and Team Sportsmanship Award) and Veronica Richardson (Perseverance Award).

Earning varsity boys basketball team awards were Jordan Keough for the Hustle Award, Keppel (Most Valuable Player), Hawk Horschel (Most Improved Player) and Jaden Keough (Team Above Self Award).


You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment
Join's mailing list.
For Email Marketing you can trust