Current Conditions
30 ° Mostly Cloudy

Login | Subscribe
Loading.... Please Wait.

Class of 2013 Hamburg Wall of Famers announced

The Hamburg Alumni Foundation, a non-profit organization, whose mission is to contribute to the continued growth and development of the Hamburg School District and recognize Alumni contributions, has announced the 2013 Wall of Fame inductees, which include Sports Legends, Distinguished Alumni and Distinguished Educators.

Sports Legends to be inducted include Bob Pearson from the Class of 1960; Joanne Poppenberg (Class of 1973); Bill Weiss (Class of 1974); Ron Smolinski (Class of 1983); Tracy Vincent-Howe (Class of 1989); and Bridget Merrick (Class of 1994).

The Team of Distinction will go to the 1985-1987 undefeated Sectional-winning girls swimming teams. Distinguished Alumni are to include Dr. Holly Andersen from the Class of 1981; Nina Jablonski (Class of 1971); Dr. Gil Gregory (Class of 1946); Dr. Don Gregory (Class of 1947); and Trish Romance (Class of 1969). Distinguished Educator will go to Lillian Brand and Homer and Kay Fiero; and the Lifetime Achievement Award will go to George and Jackie Emerling of the Class of 1950.

The induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, Sept. 28 starting 6 p.m. at the Hamburg Fairground’s Grange Building. The public is invited to honor the new inductees.

Tickets will go on sale Aug. 1 at the following locations: Hamburg Village Hall, JP Fitzgerald’s, Lockwood’s Greenhouse and ZJ’s Family Restaurant. Tickets will be available at the door the night of the ceremony, as well.

They may also be ordered online at or by mail at Alumni Foundation, PO Box 174, Hamburg, NY 14075. Ticket prices are $25 for adults and $15 for children ages 12-and-under.


You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment
Join's mailing list.
For Email Marketing you can trust